Miss World Fiji Contestant - FIJI FASHION WEEK MODEL

Written in The Fiji Sun (July 11 2015)
By Miss World Fiji Suva

 

Name: Melita Nukuvou

Age: 21

Family background: Youngest of four siblings. My Father is from Naivilaca Noco, Rewa and Mom is from Lomanikoro, Rewa. My parents separated when I was 18. I moved to Nadi in 2014. And I live in Legalega Road, Nadi with my guardians, the Swann family who take really good care of me and make me don’t miss home (Suva) where I’ve lived my entire life. My mom and siblings live in our family home here in Suva (Makoi). My late grandfather Manasa represented Fiji in rugby and athletics in the late 50s.

My father played for Fiji too in basketball. Mother played netball and basketball for Fiji as well. I didn’t take great interest in sports but played netball and volleyball back in high school at St Joseph’s Secondary School. I also play competitive volleyball in Nadi for Neighbours volleyball club to keep fit.

My dream job was to be a flight attendant and I’ve been flying for eight months now for Fiji Link, a subsidiary airline to Fiji Airways. I love my job because I meet new people all the time, I learn and experience new things every time I go to work.

I fly to Suva a lot so I get to see my mother and siblings most times. I started modelling back in 2012 when I was 18. Participated in the first teen modelling competition in 2012 but I didn’t make the top 10.

I auditioned again in 2013 for Fiji fashion week and made it to model for the big show in 2013. I was also lucky to be one of the nine girls chosen to represent Fiji Fashion Week to Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea for Papua New Guinea’s first ever fashion show (POMFW 2013). It was an awesome experience because I was a newbie then. I love modelling because I get to meet a lot of people and make a lot of friends. I still model now but not as often because of work commitment.

Occupation: Flight Attendant.

Hobbies: I love sight-seeing (travelling). Socialising with friends. I like to work out and play volleyball on my free time. I love modelling and I also earn some money from it so its a bonus.

Dreams: To grow in my career.

Aspirations: To graduate from University.

Something unique about me: For a left handed I am so calm. I never back down. I keep striving and I work towards my goals. I take criticisms on a positive manner and it has helped me to be the person I am now.

Back to news